Jump To Navigation

Suspended License

VC 14601.1(a), VC 14601.2(a), and VC 14601.5(A) set out the crime of "Driving on a Suspended License". The crime of driving on a suspended license occurs when an individual "drives" a vehicle with "knowledge" of his or her license being suspended. The individual must have been advised either by mail and/or in person that the license was suspended in order for the "knowledge" element to be proven. The Department of Motor Vehicles will serve an order of suspension via first class or certified mail to advise licensee's of the suspension. There are several different code sections related to these issues.

VC 14601.2(a) "Driving when privilege suspended or revoked for driving under the influence of alcoholic beverage or drug". This is the most serious driving on a suspended license charge. This offense carries a minimum of 10 days in the county jail on a first offense and 30 days in the county jail on a second offense. This code section also requires a ignition interlock device (I.I.D.) to be installed in your vehicle if you are convicted. VC 14601.5(a) This crime requires "Driving with knowledge of 'Administration Per Se' DMV suspension. This suspension is caused by a DUI arrest(see below.) VC 14601.1(a) this code section is the catch all for driving on a suspended license when the suspension is caused by other issues license (i.e., failure to appear, failure to pay traffic tickets or failure to pay renewal fees).

More on California Suspended License Law



Zealously Protecting Your Rights Since 1981

Our criminal defense attorneys at Roberts & Elliott, LLP defend clients throughout California's South Bay area and Silicon Valley, including the cities of San Jose, Santa Clara, Campbell, Cupertino, Sunnyvale, Mountain View, Los Gatos, Gilroy, Morgan Hill, Milpitas, Palo Alto, Pleasanton, Livermore, San Francisco, Fremont, Oakland, Hayward, San Mateo, Redwood City, and Hollister charged with a crime. Our experienced criminal defense lawyers also defend clients throughout the following California counties charged with a criminal offense: Contra Costa County, Alameda County, San Benito County, Santa Cruz County, San Francisco County, San Mateo County, Monntery County and Santa Clara County. Whether you need a San Jose criminal defense lawyer or a California DUI defense lawyer, we can help.

The statements, testimonials, or endorsements set forth in this site to not constitute a guarantee, warranty or prediction regrading the outcome of your legal matter.